Archives by Category: Faculty & Staff

Search By Keywords

Alabama Voters to Remove Racist Language from Constitution; Legislature to Propose Gay Marriage Ban

Alabama voters will get a second chance to remove racist language from the state's constitution in 2005, and the revised version will be "overwhelmingly approved" during a special referendum, predicts Dr. William Stewart, professor...

December 15, 2004

Resurgence of the American-Made Car Expected, Hybrid Sales to Go Up and SUV Sales to Go Down in ’05

Sales of "American-made" cars, many of which are manufactured in the United States by foreign car companies, will be strong in 2005, as will demand for hybrid vehicles, but SUV sales may decline, according...

December 15, 2004

Cable Companies to More Aggressively Pursue On-line Gaming, Digital Video Recording

Access, convenience, and demand for quality will impact Americans' entertainment choices in 2005. Dr. Loy Singleton, professor and chair in The University of Alabama's Telecommunication and Film Department, predicts an increase in services offered...

December 15, 2004

Alabama Economy Expected to Grow by 3.3 Percent in 2005, Matching Projected U.S. Growth Rate

More jobs will be created in Alabama in 2005 in non-agricultural employment, but the textile and apparel industries will once again take it on the chin, University of Alabama economic experts predict.

December 15, 2004

UA Mechanical Engineering Professor Receives National ASME Award

The University of Alabama's Dr. Beth Todd, associate professor of mechanical engineering, recently received the 2004 Student Section Advisor by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Todd was honored with the top national award...

December 6, 2004

UA Professor Receives AME’s Kuhmerker Award

Dr. Stephen J. Thoma, professor and chair of human development and family studies at The University of Alabama's College of Human Environmental Sciences, recently received national recognition, being named a recipient of the Association...

December 1, 2004

UA Dean Robert Olin Named Chair of American Mathematical Society Committee

Dr. Robert F. Olin, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at The University of Alabama, has been appointed chair of the American Mathematical Society's Committee on Science Policy.

November 30, 2004

UA Professor Receives Prestigious Award from American Geological Institute

The 2004 Ian Campbell Medal, the American Geological Institute's most distinguished award, was presented to Dr. Ernest A. Mancini, professor of geological sciences at The University of Alabama, at an awards ceremony in Denver...

November 23, 2004

Rogers Named UA Distinguished Research Professor

The University of Alabama Board of Trustees has conferred the highest honor it gives to a faculty member to Dr. Robin Rogers, professor of chemistry in UA's College of Arts and Sciences. Rogers has...

November 23, 2004

UA Professor Receives National Rural Medicine Award

Dr. John R. Wheat, professor of community and rural medicine in The University of Alabama College of Community Health Sciences, has been named the 2004 Stueland Scholar by the National Farm Medicine Center of...

November 22, 2004

Carver Appointed Assistant Dean of UA Business School; Focus will be on Manderson Graduate School Programs

Susan D. Carver has been appointed assistant dean of The University of Alabama's Culverhouse College of Commerce with primary responsibility for the Manderson Graduate School of Business.

November 17, 2004

Innovative Classes and Research Give UA Chemistry Professor Two Achievement Awards

A University of Alabama chemistry class will explore different bacteria, including ones that eat sulfur and rock, through funding supplied by a National Science Foundation Award. Dr. Kevin Redding, associate professor of chemistry in...

November 12, 2004

Jerry Paschal Named UA Career Center Executive Director

Jerry L. Paschal has been named executive director of The University of Alabama Career Center.

October 28, 2004

UA Mechanical Engineering Professor Named 2004 Fellow from the Society of Women Engineers

The Society of Women Engineers recently honored Dr. Beth Todd, a University of Alabama professor, with a 2004 fellow membership at the national conference in Milwaukee, Wis.

October 26, 2004

Economics Professor Walter Enders Selected for UA’s Prestigious Blackmon-Moody Award

Dr. Walter Enders, professor of economics and Lee Bidgood Chair of Economics and Finance, has been selected as the 2004 recipient of The University of Alabama's Frederick Moody Blackmon-Sarah McCorkle Moody Outstanding Professor Award.

October 20, 2004