Provost and Executive Vice President

The University of Alabama invites applications and nominations for the position of Provost and Executive Vice President.

As the University’s senior academic officer, the Executive Vice President and Provost will provide visionary, exemplary, and innovative academic and administrative leadership consistent with the standards of excellence in teaching, research, and scholarship expected at a Carnegie-designated R1 institution. Broad and comprehensive responsibilities include: coordinating faculty, staff, and student activities in defining and implementing the University’s teaching, research and service missions; supporting existing faculty and staff governance; pursuing and executing strategic academic planning and strategic enrollment management including the direction, growth and review of academic programs; approving faculty and academic staff appointments; developing academic policy; and managing the fiscal affairs of the academic enterprise. The Provost reports directly to the President and represents the President in his or her absence.


Dates Details
November Search is launched.
December - late February Recruitment period.
Monday, February 24 “Soft” deadline for applications. Position remains open until filled.
March Search Committee selects finalists subject to due diligence.
April 13 - 28 Finalists to engage with campus for interviews.
May Appointment is expected to be announced.

Search Committee

Name Title
Russell Mumper Chair of Search Committee; Vice President for Research and Economic Development
Julie Vence President, Graduate Student Association
Demarcus Joiner Vice President of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Student Government Association
Angel Narvaez-Lugo President, Office, Clerical & Technical Staff Assembly
Robert Baxter Professional Staff Assembly President, Director of Analytics
Suzanne Prevost Dean, Capstone College of Nursing
Rich Houston Director, Culverhouse School of Accountancy
Rona Donahue Faculty Senate President and Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
Bryan Fair Professor, School of Law
Elizabeth Hibberd Assistant Professor, College of Human Environmental Sciences
Tim Haskew Department Head and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Darrin Griffin Assistant Professor, College of Communication & Information Sciences
Lisa Dorr Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Andre Denham Associate Professor, College of Education; President, Black Faculty and Staff Association
Jordan Johnson Director of Financial Affairs, Office for Academic Affairs