Faculty and Staff Accolades for Sept. 30, 2019

  • September 30th, 2019
D. Birch
head shot of Allison Hetzel
A. Hetzel
head shot of Albert Lopez
A. Lopez
head shot of Wade McDonald
W. MacDonald
B. Speed
B. Speed
F. Vars







Dr. David Birch, health science, is the 2019 recipient of the American School Health Association’s William A. Howe Award. The award is ASHA’s highest honor and recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions and distinguished service in school health.

Allison Hetzel, theatre and dance, has had her one-woman show, “Step Mama Drama,” accepted to the United Solo Festival in New York City and will perform Nov. 3. This is a juried international festival of solo performance. Last year Hetzel took the show to the 2018 Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Alberto B. Lopez and Fredrick E. Vars, Law School, have published “Wrongful Living,” 104 Iowa Law Review 1921-1976 (2019). Vars also coauthored an article, “Libertarian Gun Control,” at 167 University of Pennsylvania Law Review  921-974 (2019).

Wade MacDonald, art and art history,​ presented a solo exhibition titled “Shadowtime” at The Gallery at Bloch Hall, University of Montevallo. MacDonald was invited to exhibit in “Dirt x Digital: A Southern Survey in Clay Exhibit” at Clemson University.

Bryce Speed, art and art history, was in a three-person invitational exhibition titled “Between” at the Red Arrow Gallery in Nashville, Tennessee, curated by Ashley Layendecker. Speed participated in the group exhibition “Color 2019” at Czong Institute for Contemporary Art in Gimpo, South Korea. He was accepted into the exhibition “Water, Water: Pop-up Invitational” at the Walter Anderson Museum in Ocean Springs, Mississippi.

Mark G. Foster Scholarship Winner

Larry Sampson holding award, with three people beside him
Larry Sampson (third from L) is pictured (from L to R) with PSA professional development committee co-chair Stephanie Lowe, PSA president Ben Bickerstaff, and PSA professional development committee co-chair Carleen Johnson.

The 2019 recipient of the Mark G. Foster Scholarship is Larry Sampson, manager in custodial services. The scholarship, created in memory of the late UA Professional Staff Assembly president, is awarded each fall semester to a member of the UA professional staff. Foster was active in the formation of the PSA and was part of the Professional Staff Constitutional Convention that voted to establish the Professional Staff Assembly.

The University of Alabama, the state’s oldest and largest public institution of higher education, is a student-centered research university that draws the best and brightest to an academic community committed to providing a premier undergraduate and graduate education. UA is dedicated to achieving excellence in scholarship, collaboration and intellectual engagement; providing public outreach and service to the state of Alabama and the nation; and nurturing a campus environment that fosters collegiality, respect and inclusivity.