Three New Officers Take the Reins of UA’s Faculty Senate

  • July 12th, 2018
Faculty Senate officers: Rona Donahoe, center, president; Chapman Greer, right, vice president; and Barbara Dahlbach, secretary


The University of Alabama Faculty Senate has elected three new officers for the 2018-2019 school year.

Dr. Rona Donahoe was elected president, Dr. Chapman Greer was elected vice president and Barbara Dahlbach was elected secretary.

The new officers began their roles April 1.

Donahoe is a professor of geological sciences who became a UA faculty member in January 1984 after completing a doctorate in geochemistry at Stanford University. She is a low-temperature aqueous geochemist, specializing in environmental geochemistry.

She has been a member of the UA Faculty Senate for more than 25 years, previously serving as parliamentarian, secretary and vice president. She also served as co-chair of the senate’s financial affairs committee and the governance committee.

Greer is a clinical professor in the Culverhouse College of Business where she teaches business communication and data visualization.

She has been a senator for the college since 2013. Greer also serves on the Faculty Senate academic affairs sub-committee where she served as co-chair for two years. She has also served on the Faculty Senate IT and strategic communications committee and on a number of ad hoc committees.

She has a doctorate in English and a master’s of library and information science from UA.

Dahlbach is an associate professor with University Libraries and has worked at UA since 1995. Her area of emphasis is bibliometrics.

She has been a senator for University Libraries since 2016.

She has served on the Faculty Senate IT and strategic communications committee, serving as co-chair for 2017-18. In addition, she has been the Faculty Senate representative on the University’s Campus Master Plan Committee since 2017.

She has a master’s degree in political science and library sciences from UA.

The University of Alabama, the state’s oldest and largest public institution of higher education, is a student-centered research university that draws the best and brightest to an academic community committed to providing a premier undergraduate and graduate education. UA is dedicated to achieving excellence in scholarship, collaboration and intellectual engagement; providing public outreach and service to the state of Alabama and the nation; and nurturing a campus environment that fosters collegiality, respect and inclusivity.