UA’s Student Life Division Honors Organizations, Students

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — The University of Alabama’s Division of Student Life recently recognized students and organizations for exceptional contributions to the campus and community for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Those awards included:


The Source is a provider of resources, support and recognition for student organizations on the UA campus. The Source is a program offered by the Office for Student Involvement.

Capstone Innovation Award:  Given to an organization that has produced an innovative program or initiative that is forward thinking and unique; constitutes a significant advancement for UA students and or the campus/Tuscaloosa community. The honoree is: Crimson Kindness, for its partnership with SGA on an initiative called Kindness Counts.

Outstanding New Organization: awarded to one organization that was created within the 2016-2017 academic year that has shown significant successes in its first year. The winner is: The B+ Foundation.

Outstanding Academic Organization: The Society of Women Engineers.

Outstanding Honor Society: The Anderson Society.

Outstanding Professional/Law Organization: The Capstone Agency.

Outstanding Service Organization: UA Dance Marathon.

Outstanding Intercultural/Cultural/Identity-Based Organization: Spectrum.

Outstanding Social/Fraternal Organization: Kappa Alpha Theta.

The David L. Phelps Organization of the Year: The International Students Association.

John L. Blackburn Adviser of the Year Award: Dr. William Keel, adviser to the UA Astronomical Society (faculty); Kirk Walter, adviser to Spectrum (staff).

Will Byington Award for Student Officer of the Year: The students are: Parnab Daas, president of the International Students Association and the Indian Student Association of Tuscaloosa. He is a graduate student majoring in civil engineering. Also, Lavinia Doan, vice president of The Anderson Society; she is a senior majoring in chemical engineering.


UA’s Center for Service and Leadership strives to enhance the student experience through active and diverse engagement opportunities in the community. These meaningful and experiential learning opportunities provide students the ability to enhance their leadership skills while becoming active, global citizens.

The Star Bloom Volunteer of the Year: This honor goes to the student who best demonstrates the mission to educate students for civic engagement and leadership as well as giving students diverse service engagement opportunities. This student is committed to engagement programs that promote education and awareness of community needs and resources that leads to opportunities for social problem solving. They go above and beyond in helping to forward the mission and value of community service. The students are: Allyson Pitzel and Sarah Urbanski.

Henry M. Lipsey Heart of Service Award: The award is best encapsulated by the words of Robert Greenleaf. He wrote, “The servant-leader is servant first, it begins with a natural feeling that one wants to serve first, as opposed to wanting power, influence fame or wealth.” The award has three criteria: Goodwill (acts of compassion to others in the Tuscaloosa community); Justice (conformity to the principles of equity and inclusion in all things); and Servant Leadership. The students are: Knox Auerbach, Rachel Guiles, Robert Weaver and Caylee O’Conner.

The UNLESS Award: In the Dr. Seuss book “The Lorax,”  there is a phrase that our students know all too well. That quote is: “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot nothing is going to get better it’s not.” This quote drives our commitment to active citizenship.  This award was created to celebrate those students that have committed themselves to living the creed: UNLESS. The students are: Lauren Matthews and Jillian Hutt.


The Ally of the Year Award: This award is to recognize that office or individual that has best demonstrated allyship and a commitment to making our campus a safer, more inclusive place for LGBTQA+ identified members of the UA community. The winner is: Dana Bonifacio-Sample, director of the Ferguson Student Center.


Every year, the Student Leaders’ Council, in association with the Division of Student Affairs, honors individuals who embody the best ideals of UA and the Capstone Creed.  This honor comes in the form of a special award called the “Capstone Heroes” award.  A Capstone Hero exerts a positive influence over the UA community both academically and culturally.  A Capstone Hero embodies the core values that build and sustain The University of Alabama community.  A Capstone Hero is someone who leads by example and encourages all of us to strive for excellence. Faculty: Victoria Peeples, assistant dean, College of Human Environmental Sciences. Students: Parnab Daas, Obie Moultrie, Keaton Smith and Jessica Shieh.


Jessie Patterson Jones, assistant director External Relations, Division of Student Life, 205/348-4268


Richard LeComte, media relations,, 205/348-3782

The University of Alabama, the state’s oldest and largest public institution of higher education, is a student-centered research university that draws the best and brightest to an academic community committed to providing a premier undergraduate and graduate education. UA is dedicated to achieving excellence in scholarship, collaboration and intellectual engagement; providing public outreach and service to the state of Alabama and the nation; and nurturing a campus environment that fosters collegiality, respect and inclusivity.