UA’s Order of Omega Chapter Announces 2016 Awards

  • April 28th, 2016

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The University of Alabama chapter of Order of Omega recently announced award and scholarship recipients and initiated new officers at its annual Greek awards banquet in Tuscaloosa. Order of Omega is the national honorary for fraternity and sorority members.

The 2016 Order of Omega award winners at UA include:

Outstanding Freshman:

Caroline Babbin of Hudson, Ohio, Pi Beta Phi.

Savannah Brown of Tullahoma, Tennessee, Alpha Omega Epsilon.

Joshua Michael Crumbley of Huntsville, Phi Gamma Delta.

Allyson Lacoste of Mandeville, Louisiana, Chi Omega.

Price McGiffert of Tuscaloosa, Kappa Alpha Order.

Sarah Pratt of Hoover, Alpha Chi Omega.

Laurel Wenckowski of Lake Zurich, Illinois, Alpha Delta Pi.

Outstanding Sophomore:

Addie Crane of Satsuma, Alpha Chi Omega.

Emma Farrow of Westlake Village, California, Phi Mu.

Mollie Gillis of Hollis, New Hampshire, Delta Delta Delta.

Erin Gregory of Dothan, Delta Gamma.

Benton Hughes of Montgomery, Sigma Alpha Epsilon.

Kelsey Kauffman of Little Rock, Arkansas., Kappa Alpha Theta.

Morgan Patrick of Florence, Alpha Omicron Pi.

Tyler Portanova of Brentwood, Tennessee, Theta Chi.

Outstanding Junior:

Dalton Beasley of Tuscaloosa, Sigma Tau Gamma.

Brandon Bennett of Huntsville, Alpha Phi Alpha.

Bryonna Burrows of Kennesaw, Georgia, Alpha Kappa Alpha.

Paul Logan Chambers of Birmingham, Phi Delta Theta.

Will Green of Vestavia Hills, Beta Theta Pi.

Terrance J. Lewis of Columbus, Georgia, Omega Psi Phi.

Anne Matthews of Greenville, Kappa Kappa Gamma.

Chandler Shields of Huntsville, Chi Omega.

Paige Sims of Leawood, Kansas., Phi Mu.

Outstanding Greek Male — Branden Greenberg of Montgomery, Zeta Beta Tau.

Outstanding Greek Woman — Katelyn Katsafanas of Napierville, Ill., Phi Mu.

Outstanding Fraternity President — Will Green Beta of Vestavia Hills, Theta Pi.

Outstanding Sorority President –– Mary Harmon Tyson of Mountain Brook, Alpha Gamma Delta.

Outstanding Sorority Adviser — Martha Griffith, Kappa Alpha Theta.

Quarles Burns Outstanding Fraternity Adviser — Billy Mitchell, Delta Tau Delta.

Clara Trawick House Director Award — Kathryn Hopkins, Kappa Alpha Theta.

Greek Relations Award — Delta Delta Delta.

Most Improved Fraternity — Beta Theta Pi.

Most Improved Sorority — Kappa Alpha Theta.

Outstanding Fraternity — Theta Chi.

Outstanding Sorority — Alpha Chi Omega.

Rick Funk Award: Rob Grady of Tuscaloosa, Alpha Tau Omega; Sara Meadows of Prattville, Alpha Omega Epsilon.

Kent Gardner Scholarship (one of 150 scholarships presented nationally by Order of Omega): Meaghan Gregory of Dothan, Delta Gamma; Erik Schatz of Homewood, Kappa Alpha Order.

2016-2017 Order of Omega Officers:

President- Lacey Cencula of Birmingham, Pi Beta Phi.

Vice-President- Marshall Lee of Montgomery, Sigma Alpha Epsilon.

Secretary- Franklin Williams of Birmingham, Phi Delta Theta.

Treasurer- Dalton Thomas of Olney, Maryland., Kappa Sigma.



Rick Funk, Office of Undergraduate Admissions,, 205/348-9679


Kristi Payne or Richard LeComte, media relations,, 205/348-3782

The University of Alabama, the state’s oldest and largest public institution of higher education, is a student-centered research university that draws the best and brightest to an academic community committed to providing a premier undergraduate and graduate education. UA is dedicated to achieving excellence in scholarship, collaboration and intellectual engagement; providing public outreach and service to the state of Alabama and the nation; and nurturing a campus environment that fosters collegiality, respect and inclusivity.