EXHIBIT The Family You Choose, Documenting 30 Years of LGBTQ Student Life at the Capstone

Date: Friday, September 15, 2017
Time: 09:00 AM - 04:30 PM
Location: A. S. Williams Americana Collection, Room 301 Gorgas Library
Cost: FREE

Categories: Campus Life, University Libraries

Since the Gay Student Union was established in 1983, a visible and active community at the University of Alabama has been steadily evolving, its narrative inscribed in the very names the student organization has taken up over the years, seven in all. Each reinvention signaled how the family was expanding.

This exhibit, a mix of originals and facsimiles, is drawn from the Miller-Stephens GLBTQ UA Student Organization Collection, held by the W. S. Hoole Special Collections Library at The University of Alabama. It provides just a sampling of what’s available in this research collection, which comprises the group’s records and artifacts, as well as ephemera documenting more than thirty years of Southern LGBTQ+ history.
 

Contact Info: Kate Matheny, kgmatheny@ua.edu, 205-348-0506, Website

Other Dates For This Event:
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Thursday, September 28, 2017
Friday, September 29, 2017
Monday, October 02, 2017
Tuesday, October 03, 2017
Wednesday, October 04, 2017
Thursday, October 05, 2017
Friday, October 06, 2017
Monday, October 09, 2017
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Friday, October 13, 2017

View All Dates

Save to Your Calendar
Google Calendar | Yahoo! Calendar | Windows Live Calendar | iCalendar | vCalendar