Emancipation, Reconstruction, and “Redemption”: Alabama, 1863-1877, Exhibit

Date: Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Time: 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Location: Lobby W. S. Hoole Special Collections Library, Mary Harmon Bryant Hall

Categories: University Libraries

This exhibit at W. S. Hoole Special Collections Library focuses on the Reconstruction period in Alabama, particularly the repercussions of slave emancipation and Confederate defeat. The struggle of freed people of color to establish new lives and advocate for social justice is inextricably linked with the rancor of disenfranchised Southern whites and their resistance to the new status quo.

The exhibit offers a timeline of local and national events and provides other helpful political and social context. It also showcases archival sources from UA Libraries Special Collections, illustrating important historical events and realities of the era. Items range from handwritten documents such as letters, diary entries, and receipts to printed  pieces like as newspaper articles, reports, and ephemera. 

The exhibit is open during the library’s regular hours of operation: Monday/Wednesday/Friday 9:00 a.m.-4:45 p.m. and Tuesday/Thursday 9:00 a.m.-7:45 p.m. (when classes are in session).

It runs through April 15, 2020.

 

Contact Info: Kate Matheny, kgmatheny@ua.edu, 205-348-0506

Other Dates For This Event:
Saturday, February 22, 2020
Sunday, February 23, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Saturday, February 29, 2020
Sunday, March 01, 2020
Monday, March 02, 2020
Tuesday, March 03, 2020
Wednesday, March 04, 2020
Thursday, March 05, 2020
Friday, March 06, 2020
Saturday, March 07, 2020

View All Dates

Save to Your Calendar
Google Calendar | Yahoo! Calendar | Windows Live Calendar | iCalendar | vCalendar