EXHIBITION: Self-Taught Artist Purvis Young

Date: Friday, September 13, 2019
Time: 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Location: University of Alabama gallery at the Dinah Washington Cultural Arts Center
Cost: Free and open to the public

Categories: Arts, College of Arts & Sciences, Department of Art and Art History

The Paul R. Jones Museum presents Purvis Young: Born in Liberty City, September 6 through October 25, 2019, in downtown Tuscaloosa. The exhibition of 27 pieces by the self-taught artist has been selected entirely from the Seiler Zaden Rimes Collection, with the assistance of UA alumnus Richard Zaden. The public is invited to a First Friday reception, September 6, from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.

Purvis Young was a self-taught artist known for his expressive collages and paintings. Made on found objects, including scrap metal, book pages, and discarded envelops, his richly colored depictions of trucks, figures, and coil-shaped abstractions described a fraught, yet inspired experience of living in the poverty stricken Overtown neighborhood of Miami.

Read more about the exhibition here.

Contact Info: Daniel White, dlwhite4@ua.edu, 205-345-3844

Other Dates For This Event:
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 01, 2019
Wednesday, October 02, 2019
Thursday, October 03, 2019
Friday, October 04, 2019
Monday, October 07, 2019
Tuesday, October 08, 2019
Wednesday, October 09, 2019

View All Dates

Save to Your Calendar
Google Calendar | Yahoo! Calendar | Windows Live Calendar | iCalendar | vCalendar