Exhibit: Of This Goodly Land: Celebrating Alabama's Bicentennial, 1819-2019

Date: Monday, February 11, 2019
Time: All Day
Location: Gorgas Library

Categories: Campus Life, University Libraries

Formed as a territory on March 3, 1817, Alabama became the nation's 22nd state on Dec. 14, 1819.  We are commemorating Alabma's 200th anniversary with a celebration of the state's natural beauty, vibrant culture, diverse people and rich history.

This exhibit covers a variety of topics, including historical moments like the early statehood period; secession, Civil War and Reconstruction; the Space Race; and the Civil Rights Movement.  It also looks at major industries from cotton and timber to coal and steel.  Other subjects include education, transportation, politics, nature and the arts.

Be sure to see all parts Of This Goodly Land that are being exhibited in the Pearce Lobby and the A.S. Williams III Americana Collection ( Gorgas Library – 2nd and 3rd floors) and the Lobby and Reading Room of the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library (Mary Harmon Bryant Hall – 2nd floor).

Please check the University Libraries website for hours of operation for the various locations and buildings. Hoole Library is not open on the weekends.

Contact Info: Martha Bace, mabace@ua.edu, 205-348-6388

Other Dates For This Event:
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Saturday, February 23, 2019
Sunday, February 24, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Friday, March 01, 2019
Saturday, March 02, 2019

View All Dates

Save to Your Calendar
Google Calendar | Yahoo! Calendar | Windows Live Calendar | iCalendar | vCalendar