Skip to content

Engineering Dean Search

The University of Alabama invites applications and nominations for the position of Dean of the College of Engineering.

The University of Alabama (UA) seeks a strategic and collaborative leader with a high scholarly profile to serve as the next Dean of the College of Engineering. The Dean will develop a future-oriented vision for the College and provide leadership on planning, curricular, research, and budgetary decisions. The Dean will also engage with alumni, the business community, and state and federal government officials to advance the goals of the College and University. The successful candidate must possess a terminal degree and qualify for appointment at the rank of full professor in one of the College’s departments. The candidate must also possess a significant and progressive record of higher education leadership.


Dates Details
Monday, October 18 Search Committee meets.
Week of October 25 Ad and prospectus/profile are finalized. Ad is placed with selected ad venues suggested and authorized by UA.
Late October – Early January Recruitment period.
Tuesday, January 4 Confidential website with applications is opened to the Search Committee.
Tuesday, January 11 Best consideration deadline for applications.
Week of February 14 Finalists visit campus.
Late February Appointment is announced.
July 2022 Appointee assumes office.

Search Committee

Name Title
Dr. Mark Weaver Chair of Search Committee; Professor Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
Dr. Paul Allison Associate Professor and Center Director Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Travis Atkison Associate Professor Computer Science
Dr. John Baker Professor Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics
Dr. Jason Bara Professor Chemical and Biological Engineering
Dr. Mark E. Barkey Department Head, Professor Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics
Dr. Michael E. Kreger Professor, Garry Neil Drummond Endowed Chair Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
Dr. Andrew Lemmon Associate Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dr. Beth Ann Todd Associate Professor Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Robin Boylorn Professor College of Communications & Information Sciences
Julie Ember Director of Financial Affairs College of Engineering
Amanda Holloman PhD student in computer science College of Engineering
Dr. Joe Messina Dean College of Arts & Sciences
Dr. Russ Mumper Vice President Office of Research & Economic Development
Richard Nail II Senior Principal Engineer LBYD, Inc.
Katherine Ziska Undergraduate student in metallurgical engineering College of Engineering